Lunch Time Woes

Since we returned from the holiday break, I’ve been spending more time in the lunch room at Winthrop.  What I noted to be a small issue in the fall seems to be growing bigger and bigger each week – students not eating lunch!  This phenomenon isn’t restricted to our almost-middle-schoolers, there were even students in Kindergarten today who told me they weren’t hungry, or didn’t like what they had brought.

It’s understandable not to be hungry from time to time, but I stress to students that food is the fuel that allows their brains to work for the rest of the day.  While I certainly want their bellies to be full, I’m more concerned about their brain power for all the learning that takes place each afternoon!

They seem to know and understand this, but it doesn’t result in that many more kiddos eating what they brought.  Many students simply complain that they don’t like their lunch.  There are numerous ideas on how to pack a great lunch around the web, but a few I thought worth checking out are: netmoms, webmd, familyfun, and nhs.  However, the best suggestion I can give (as the principal, and as a parent of a 17-year-old) is to involve your child in the lunch packing process.  We have many students who bring a thermos and can tell me what’s inside before I even help open it.  That tells me they were involved in the creation of their lunch, and are invested in eating it.  Don’t get stuck in the “_______ isn’t lunch food” fight.  If they like it, will eat it, and the item(s) has some sort of nutritional value, it can be lunch!

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” ~ Virginia Woolf

