We’re Ready!

This rainy Saturday I spent a few last hours at Winthrop putting some finishing touches on little things I had hoped to get accomplished this summer. It was very quiet and provided time for me to reflect on these past two months.

So much has changed since I walked in the door on July 1st and I have learned a great deal.  This past week – with every administrator back in the district and over 90% of our staff coming into school to set-up, organize, and get ready for next week – I realized what a truly great school system this is. 

But that was based on adult interactions … the true highlights of my week were (1) having  the kindergarteners playing outside and visiting the school on Wednesday, along with four fantastic fifth graders who volunteered to give up a summer morning to be tour guides, and (2) seeing many of those same kindergartners at the Mayor’s Kindergarten Picnic in the Park on Thursday night.  2024 – wow! 

 I would be remiss to not point out the work of George Ferguson, our custodian, along with Tim, Andrew, and Sean, our summer custodial staff.  They have worked tirelessly on not only the usual summer tasks, but also completed days and days of hauling, packing, storing, and tossing as the teachers and I cleaned out closets and classrooms!  The building is looking great and will get a final sweep, swish, and dusting on Monday morning to be ready for students.  Also, if you happen to know (or run into) Mark Kelsey or Nathan Atwater, please give them a big THANKS!  They have done a phenomenal job at updating our technology and providing training to our teachers.

I’m eagerly awaiting Tuesday and the 179 days that follow!

